OnCollision and CollisionParameter

Nov 30, 2009 at 2:40 AM

Hello,

Sorry if this question is to noobish or whatever but I am just getting started using Oops!

I was wondering if their was an oncollision property in the collision shapes or if there was an collision parameter.

I have been using my own physics engine for so long and I find those two things to be a great help

alot more efficient then manual checking every collision.

I saw there was an array of the collisions that occured in the CollisionGroup that contains each shape involved so I suppose i could check every collision to see if one of the shapes fits the description of object I want but before I give up and do that Id rather find an oncollision(CollisionShape) or something.

Also, I noticed the flags for collision response enabled and the collision group properties but is there a collision parameter

something like a CollisionParameter(CollisionShape shape) boolean?

Sorry if the answers are obvious and I just cant see them

Coordinator
Nov 30, 2009 at 3:29 AM

hi tlegion, all questions are welcome here.  :)

Currently, there is no per-shape-collision event to subscribe to get collision information as they happen, but there is an interface you can implement, called ICollisionCallback, that allows you accept/reject collisions as they happen or even modify if necessary for ANY collision regardless of any criteria.  To setup this type of notification up, implement the ICollisionCallback on a class (your Game class would work) and pass an instance of this class as a parameter to the constructor of the PhysicsComponent. 

Otherwise, currently, you would have to do what you described - after the physics simulation has ran for the frame (usually when PhysicsComponent.EndUpdate is called), you would have to iterate through the relevant CollisionGroup's Collisions collection.